Towns in Allerdale

Overview of the borough

Maryport Marina

Allerdale comprises three physically and economically distinct areas, which create a diversity of interests contributing to the cultural wealth of the region:

  • 1. The urbanised west-coast area of Cockermouth, Maryport and Workington, which accounts for nearly two-thirds of the population.
  • 2. The Lake District National Park, incorporating seven major lakes and the market town of Keswick to the east.
  • 3. The Solway Coast and Plain, incorporating an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the market towns of Aspatria, Silloth and Wigton.

Town Centre management

The Council is commitment to local communities and thriving town centres, to make them more attractive and welcoming.

Allerdale has two Town Centre managers:

Joe Broomfield covering Cockermouth, Keswick, Silloth and Wigton

Toni Magean covering Aspatria, Maryport and Workington

The Council has made available £10,000 for each of the town councils to spend on improvements to their town. This has been extended to include Seaton due to its size.

Carlisle City Council logo   Cumbria County Council

Copeland District Council logo   Eden District Council logo


Contact us

0303 123 1702

Allerdale Borough Council
Allerdale House, Workington, Cumbria,
CA14 3YJ